Skip Navigation LinksDirectory > Faculty & staff > Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate

Home | Meeting Info & Agenda | Minutes | Committees | Action Items | 2014 Call for Nominations | Contact Information | Archive

The purpose of the Faculty Senate is to act as an effective faculty assembly which can, within the laws applicable to Murray State University, enter into a partnership for shared responsibility and cooperative action among the students, faculty, administration, Board of Regents, and other elements of the university:

To promote the growth and general welfare of the university. 

To consider and express faculty judgement and recommendations on university affairs, including personnel, financial and university academic matters, as the Senate deems appropriate and necessary.

To afford avenues and procedures whereby communications within the university may flow freely, fully and systematically, and to accept and share responsibility for growth of scholarship, learning, teaching, research, service, and respect for human dignity and rights.

Stephen B. White Aware for Shared Governance Call for Nominations

The Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate is calling upon faculty and staff for nominations for the Stephen B. White Award for Shared Governance.  This award commemorates long-time Faculty Senator and Faculty Senate President Dr. Stephen B. White and his decades of participating in and advocating for shared governance at Murray State University.  With this award, recipients are recognized for major individual contributions to shared governance or a history of contributions to shared governance at Murray State University.

Eligibility:  Current faculty, administrative faculty, and staff members employed at Murray State are eligible for the award.  Members of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, which will judge nominations, are ineligible for the award.

Award Criteria:  Nominees must have demonstrated contributions in the area of shared governance that either exceed what is expected of an individual in her or his position or significantly reimagine, invigorate, or expand the scope of shared governance.

Process: Nominations must be submitted in the form of letters and supporting material addressing award criteria to the Secretary of the Faculty Senate at   Nominations will be considered by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee.  Recipients will be announced at the May Faculty Senate meetings and will have their names added to a plaque commemorating Dr. White.

Deadline for Nominations:  1 April 2014

Decorative image
Site Directory