Faculty

History Faculty in the Stairwell
Department of History Faculty

Address:
Department of History
6B Faculty Hall
Murray, KY 42071-3341

Phone Number: 
(270) 809-2231

Department Chair: 

contact-pic
Dr. Kathy Callahan
Department Chair
Associate Professor of History
Ph.D., Marquette University, 2005 
M.A., Marquette University, 1995 
M.S., Indiana State University
B.S., Indiana State University
Teaching Interests: Modern European History, Renaissance, Reformation, Medieval Europe, Early Modern Europe, British History
6B-13, Faculty Hall
kcallahan@murraystate.edu
270.809.6580
 

Administrative Assistant:

 Photo of Victoria Herndon, Admin Assistant
Victoria Herndon
Administrative Assistant
6B-21, Faculty Hall
vherndon3@murraystate.edu
270.809.2234
 
 Faculty:
 
contact-pic
Ted Franklin Belue
Senior Lecturer of History
M.A., Murray State University, 1985
B.S., Murray State University, 1982
A.A., Florida College, 1976
Teaching Interests: American Frontier, Native Americans, Environment
6B-08, Faculty Hall
tbelue@murraystate.edu
270.809.5455
 
contact-pic
Dr. J. Duane Bolin
Professor of History
Ph.D., University of Kentucky, 1988
M.A., University of Kentucky, 1982
B.A., Belmont University 1978
Teaching Interest: American History, Gilded Age and Progressive Era, Kentucky History
6B-17, Faculty Hall
duane.bolin@murraystate.edu
270.809.6578
 
contact-pic
Dr. Brian Clardy
Associate Professor of History
Ph.D.,  Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, 1999
M.P.A., Murray State University, 1991
B.A., The University of Tennessee at Martin, 1988
Teaching Interest: World Religions, American Politics, International Relations, U.S. Diplomatic History since 1900
6B-10, Faculty Hall
bclardy@murraystate.edu
270.809.6574
 
contact-pic
Dr. Urmi Engineer
Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz, 2010
M.A., University of California, Santa Cruz, 2005
B.A., Wake Forest University , 2002
Teaching Interest: World History, Atlantic World, Environment and Disease, Ecology, Early Americas, South Asia
6B-09, Faculty Hall
uengineer@murraystate.edu
270.809.6588
 
contact-pic
Dr. Jie (Selina) Gao
Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D., The University of Western Ontario, 2010
M.A., Beijing University, 2003
Double B.A., Beijing University, 2000
Teaching Interests:  Modern China, Intellectual and Cultural History, Sino-Foreign Relations, Women's Studies, East Asian History
6B-03 Faculty Hall
jgao4@murraystate.edu
270.809.6581
contact-pic
Dr. Marjorie Hilton
Associate Professor of History
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2003
M.A., University of  South Alabama, 1996
B.S., Louisiana State University, 1984
Teaching Interest: Revolutionary Russia, Soviet Union, Modern Europe, Consumer Culture, Gender, Film
6B-11, Faculty Hall
mhilton@murraystate.edu
270.809.6579
 
 Dr. Humphreys
Dr. James Humphreys
Associate Professor of History
Ph.D., Mississippi State University, 2005
M.A., North Carolina State University, 1989 
B.S., Social Science, Campbell University, 1985
Teaching Interests: African-American History, Early American History, Government, Modern Europe history, Southern US history
6B-18, Faculty Hall
jhumphreys@murraystate.edu
270.809.6573
 
Dr. Irvin 
Dr. Aaron Irvin
Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles,  2012
M.A., University of California, Los Angeles, 2007
B.A., Western Washington University, 2005
Teaching Interests: Greece, Rome, Ancient History
6B-04, Faculty Hall
airvin1@murraystate.edu
270.809.6583
 
contact-pic
Dr. Christine B. Lindner
Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D., University of Edinburgh, 2009
M.A., Durham University, 2004
B.A., Gordon College, 2002
Teaching Interests: Middle Eastern History, Ottoman History, Lebanon & Syria, Protestantism in the Middle East, Christianity in the Middle East, Women's History, Historic Cemeteries, Digital History
6B-05 Faculty Hall
clindner1@murraystate.edu
270.809.6572
 
contact-pic
Dr. William Mulligan Jr.
Professor of History
Ph.D., Clark University, 1982
M.A., Clark University, 1973
B.A., Assumption College, 1970
Teaching Interests: Irish Diaspora, Early America, U.S. Social and Industrial History
6B-06, Faculty Hall
bill.mulligan@murraystate.edu
270.809.6571
 
contact-pic
Dr. David Pizzo
Associate Professor of History
History Graduate Studies Coordinator
Faculty Coordinator, Office of Research and Creative Activity (ORCA)
Chairman, International Studies Advisory Council (ISAC)
Ph.D., University of North Carolina, 2007
M.A., University of North Carolina, 2001
B.A., Duke University, 1999
Teaching Interests: German History, Modern European History, African History, the World Wars, Imperialism, Genocide
6B-15, Faculty Hall
dpizzo@murraystate.edu
270.809.6584
 
contact-pic
Taufiq Rashid
Senior Lecturer of History
Ph.D. ABD, Indiana University, 1987
M.S., Indiana University, 1985
B.S., University of Kentucky, 1978 
Teaching Interests: American Government, U.S. Foreign Policy, World Civilizations
6B-12, Faculty Hall
trashid@murraystate.edu
270.809.6586
 
contact-pic
Dr. Eleanor Rivera
Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D., The University of Chicago, 2015
M.A., The University of Chicago, 2007
B.A., Smith College, 2004
Teaching Interests: Modern Europe, Modern France, Childhood, History of Education, Empire, Religion, Gender, Material Culture
6B-21, Faculty Hall
erivera@murraystate.edu
270.809.6577
 
Professors Emeritus:
 
contact-pic
Dr. Charlotte Beahan
Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., Columbia University,  1976
M.A., Columbia University, 1969
B.A., Michigan State University, 1967
Teaching Interests: East Asia, Women's History, World Civilizations
cbeahan@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Dr. Kenneth Carstens
Professor Emeritus of Anthropology and Archaeology 
Ph.D., Washington University, 1980
M.A., Washington University-St. Louis, 1974
B.S., Central Michigan University, 1971
Teaching Interest: Colonial and Frontier History of the Trans-Appalachian Region, George Rogers Clark's Fort Jefferson, Cultural Resource Management
kcarstens@murraystate.edu
270.809.6846
contact-pic
Dr. William Schell, Jr.
Professor Emeritus of History
Ph.D., University of North Carolina, 1992
M.A., University of North Carolina, 1985
B.A., University of North Carolina, 1982
Teaching Interests: Mexican History, Latin-American History, Film, Foreign Relations
wschell@murraystate.edu

Adjuncts: 

Samuel Baum, MA
Instructor, Thoroughbred Academy
M.A., Murray State University, 2016
B.A., Murray State University, 2013
6B-07, Faculty Hall                                                         
sbaum@murraystate.edu
270.809.6846
Teaching Interests: World Civilizations I
 
Rebecca E. Dames, MA
Instructor
M.A., Murray State University, 2016
B.A., Murray State University, 2010
rdames@murraystate.edu                                            
Teaching Interests: World Civilizations I & II
 
Dr. Sean (Jeff) McLaughlin
Instructor
Ph.D., The University of Western Ontario, 2010
M.A., University of Leeds, 2002
B.A., Carleton University, 2001
Teaching Interests: Twentieth Century US, Twentieth Century World, American Foreign Relations, Cold War, Vietnam War, Sport History                                                                          
6B-07, Faculty Hall
smclaughlin1@murraystate.edu
270.809.6846
 
Matthew Robertson
Instructor
Ph.D, Candidate, University of California-Santa Barbara (2017)
M.A., St. John's College-Santa Fe, 2009
B.S., Truman State University, 2005
Teaching Interests:  South Asian religious traditions, Ancient History, History of Science and Medicine, History of Christian Thought, Philosophy of Religion                                                                            
mrobertson13@murraystate.edu 
 
Erin Ragsdale, MA
Instructor
M.A., Murray State University, 2013
B.A., Murray State University, 2010
eragsdale@murraystate.edu                                            
270.809.6846