Faculty

Brad Almquist
Director of Choral Activities
Professor of Music
DMA, Louisiana State University
MM, University of North Dakota
BS, University of North Dakota

Area of Expertise: Choral Music, Choral Music Education, Musicology

Email: balmquist@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6448
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts 528



Randall Black
Professor of Music
DM, Indiana University
MM, Indiana University
BM, Southern Illinois University

Area of Expertise: Voice, Pedagogy, Opera

Email: rblack@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6447
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts 522



conklin

Ray Conklin
Emeritus Professor
MM, University of  Louisville
BME, University of Louisville

Area of Expertise: Low Brass

Email: rconklin@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6441
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts 527



Maribeth Crawford

Maribeth Crawford
Assistant Professor of Music
DMA, University of Cincinnati's College Conservatory of Music
MM, University of Cincinnati's College Conservatory of Music
BM, Mississippi College

Area of Expertise:  Voice, Opera

Email: mcrawford8@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6446
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  523



ashley cumming

Ashley Cumming
Assistant Professor of Music
DM, Indiana University

Area of Expertise:  Horn

Email: acumming@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6453
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts 542



Christy D'Ambrosio
Adjunct Instructor
MM, University of Cincinnati - Piano
BM, Miami University - Piano Performance

Area of Expertise: Piano, Suzuki Pedagogy

Email: cdambrosio@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.3142
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts 544



Mike D'Ambrosio

Mike D'Ambrosio
www.mikedambrosio.net
Associate Professor of Music
DMA, University of Cincinnati
MM, University of Cincinnati
BS, Lehigh University
BA, Lehigh University

Area of Expertise: music theory, composition, aural skills

Email: mdambrosio@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.3142
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  544



Mike D'Ambrosio

John Dressler

Emeritus Professor
DM, Indiana University
MM, Indiana University
BME, Baldwin-Wallace College

Area of Expertise: music theory, music history

Email: jdressler@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6445
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  520



scott erickson

Scott Erickson
Associate Professor of Music
MM, University of Michigan
BM, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Area of Expertise: oboe, bassoon, saxophone

Email: serickson@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6457
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  525



john fannin

John Fannin
Assistant Director of Bands
Associate Professor of Music
MM, New Mexico State University
BS, Edinboro University

Area of Expertise: marching band, wind ensembles, music education

Email:  jfannin@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6449
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  306
Fannin Music YouTube Channel



Tana Field
Assistant Professor of Music
DMA, University of Cincinnati
MM, University of Cincinnati
BA, Luther College

Area of Expertise: voice, diction

Email: tfieldbartholomew@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.4395
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts 545 



todd m. french

Todd M. French
Assistant Professor of Music
DM, Indiana University 
MM, Indiana University 
BM, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Area of Expertise: tuba, theory

Email: tfrench10@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.4282
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts 524



christa frye

Christa J. Frye
Adjunct Professor of Clarinet
DM, University of Texas-Austin
MM, Florida State University 
BM, University or Tennessee-Knoxville

Area of Expertise: clarinet performance

Email: cfrye1@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6444
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts 529



Matthew Gianforte
Associate Professor of Music
DM, Indiana University
MM, Indiana University
BM, The Catholic University of America

Area of Expertise: piano

Email: mgianforte@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6443
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  521



   

John Hill
Assistant Professor of Music
DMA, Indiana University
MM, Butler University
BME, Butler University

Area of Expertise: percussion

Email: jhill@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6460
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  3026



Todd Hill
Associate Professor of Music
EdD, Boise State University
MME, Murray State University
BME, Murray State University

Area of Expertise: trombone, euphonium, tuba, jazz ensembles

Email: thill@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6337
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  523



Dennis Johnson
Director of Bands and Orchestras
Associate Professor of Music
MM, Michigan State University
BME, University of Michigan

Area of Expertise: wind ensembles, orchestra, conducting

Email: djohnson1@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6456
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  305



kane

Karen Kane
Lecturer in Music
Music Business Program Director

Area of Expertise: music business

Email: kkane@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6323
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  531



kane

Erica Kupinski
Assistant Professor
Music Education
PhD, University of Mississippi
MMEd, University of Georgia
BM, Augusta State University


Area of Expertise: 
Music Education, Elementary General Music Ed, History of Music Ed

Email: ekupinski@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6459
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  535



 
sunhaeng_lee

Sunhaeng Lee
Adjunct Professor of Cello and Bass
DMA, University of Cincinnati (In Progress)
MM, University of Cincinnati 
Artist Diploma, University of Cincinnati
BM, Hanyang University in Korea

Area of Expertise: cello, bass

Email: slee89@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.4587
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts 529



Vicki Madison
Adjunct Professor of Music
BME, Murray State University

Area of Expertise: music education

Email: vmadison@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.4288
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  504



mitchell

Christopher Mitchell
Associate Professor of Music
DM, Florida State University
MM, Florida State University
BM, Michigan State University

Area of Expertise: voice, opera

Email: cmitchell1@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.3281
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  537



meeyoun park

Mee Youn Park
Assistant Professor of Music
DM, Indiana University
PD, Indiana University
MM, Indiana University
BM, Yonsei University

Area of Expertise: Piano, Collaborative Piano

Email: mpark9@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6333
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts 526



sue-jean park

Sue-Jean Park
Associate Professor of Music
DMA, University of Texas at Austin
MM, Yale University
BM, Seoul National University

Area of Expertise: violin, viola

Email: spark@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6458
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  517



Stephanie Rea
Professor
DM, Florida State University
MM, Florida State University (Music Theory)
MM, Florida State University (Flute Performance)
BM, East Tennessee State University

Area of Expertise: flute and theory

Email: srea@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.4007
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  530



Eric Swisher
Professor of Music
DMA, University of North Texas
MM, Indiana University
BME, University of Oklahoma

Area of Expertise: trumpet

Email: eswisher@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6335
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  518



Tammy Turner
Adjunct Professor of Music
DA, University of Mississippi
MM, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
BM, University of Tennessee-Martin

Area of Expertise: music history

Email: tturner@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.3503
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  536



Lucia Unrau

Lucia Unrau
Department Chairman
D.M.A. in Piano Performance from the University of Texas at Austin
M.M. in Piano Performance from Indiana University
B.M. in Piano Performance from Oberlin Conservatory

Area of Expertise: Piano, Pedagogy

Email: lunrauterry@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.4288
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts  505
www.luciaunrau.com



Brent Webster

Brent Webster
Lecturer
BA, Murray State University
MM, University of Kentucky

Area of Expertise: guitar

Email: bwebster@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.2957
Office:  FA 2004



weimer

Steven Weimer
Assistant Professor of Music

DMA, University of Cincinnati

MM, Bowling Green State University
BM, Western Illinois University

Area of Expertise: Music Theory, Aural Skills, Composition, Electronic Music

Email: sweimer@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6454
Office:  FA 541



Pamela Wurgler
Professor of Music
PhD, Ohio State University
MM, University of Cincinnati
BME, Baylor University

Area of Expertise: music education, voice

Email: pwurgler@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.4288
Office:  Price Doyle Fine Arts 505