Take Your Place in the Murray State Tradition
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Search

Skip Navigation LinksDirectory > Administration > Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Search

Search for Murray State University's Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Search Calendar

Search Committee Planning Meeting(s)

Advertisement posted

March 1, 2013 
Application Deadline

Early March 
Applications reviewed by the members of the search committee;
Phone interviews (if needed)

Off-site interviews (if needed)

Early April
Two to four finalists on campus:
Dr. Joseph Morgan – April 2-3
Dr. Charles McAdams – April 4-5
Dr. Bahman Ghorashi – April 8-9
Dr. Brenda Nichols – April 11-12

Position Advertisement | MSU CommunityMSU Organization Chart | Search Committee Membership


Four candidates have been identified as finalists for the position of provost and vice president for academic affairs at Murray State University. They will be visiting the Murray State campus during the first two weeks of April.

The provost candidate finalists, along with their interview dates, are Dr. Joseph (Jay) Morgan, April 2-3; Dr. Charles McAdams, April 4-5; Dr. Bahman Ghorashi, April 8-9; and Dr. Brenda Nichols, April 11-12.

Open forums for faculty will be held for each candidate on the first day of the visit from 12:45-1:45 p.m. in the Freed Curd Auditorium in the Collins Center for Industry and Technology.

A presentation and open forum for each candidate for the entire campus community will also be held on the first day of each visit from 3-4:30 p.m. in the Wrather West Kentucky Museum Auditorium.

Dr. Bonnie Higginson, the current provost and vice president for academic affairs, has resigned effective June 30, 2013, to return to teaching in the college of education.

Brief bio, curriculum vitae and schedule for each finalists:

Jay MorganDr. Joseph (Jay) Morgan (April 2-3) is a Murray State University graduate with a B.S. in agriculture science and business, and an M.S. in agriculture science. He earned his Ph.D. at Oklahoma State University in agricultural education. He has been the associate provost for graduate education and research at Murray State since 2010. Morgan began teaching at MSU in 1997 in the Hutson School of Agriculture. Prior to beginning his career at MSU, Morgan spent two years teaching and coaching at the high school level. (CV and Schedule)


McAdamsDr. Charles McAdams (April 4-5) received the B.S.Ed. from Tennessee Technological University, and the M.S. and Ed.D. from the University of Illinois, all in music education. Since 2004, he has served as dean of the college of arts and sciences at Northwest Missouri State University. Previously, he was chair and professor in the department of music at the University of Central Missouri, where he began teaching in 1983. Prior to that McAdams directed high school band and choir. (CV and Schedule


GhorashiDr. Bahman Ghorashi (April 8-9) holds three degrees in chemical engineering — the B.S. from Wayne State University, and the M.S. and Ph.D. from The Ohio State University. He is currently executive director of Fenn Academy and Fenn Research and Development Institute at Cleveland State University, as well as a professor of chemical and biomedical engineering. Earlier, he served as dean of the college of engineering at CSU. He began his career there in 1978, rising through the teaching ranks in the department of chemical engineering. (CV and Schedule)


NicholsDr. Brenda Nichols (April 11-12) is a graduate of the University of Evansville with an A.S.N., B.S.N. and M.S. (education). She earned the D.N.Sc. at the Indiana University school of nursing. She is currently dean of the college of arts and sciences at Lamar University in Texas. Former positions in higher education include chair of the Old Dominion University school of nursing, dean of the college of health sciences at Southern Cross University in Australia and director of nursing research at the University of Southern Mississippi. She began her teaching career at Kentucky Wesleyan College in 1977. (CV and Schedule)


President Randy Dunn has appointed Dr. Jack Rose, Faculty Regent, to chair the Provost Search Committee which will meet initially this month.  The new provost may begin his or her duties as early as July 1, 2013 replacing Dr. Bonnie Higginson who announced her resignation effective June 30, 2013.   

"I am pleased and honored to be a part of the search process for Murray State University's next Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs,” said Dr. Rose.  “Dr. Bonnie Higginson has served MSU in an outstanding manner and will be sorely missed.  President Dunn's charge to the committee stated his desire to recruit the highest level internal and external applicants who will demonstrate outstanding leadership to sustain the high standards of academic quality for which MSU is known.  I am convinced the committee appointed by President Dunn is an outstanding group ready to work diligently to find folks who meet those qualifications." 

The 17-member committee includes representatives from each academic college and school, constituent groups, the Dean’s Council, Professional Staff, Student Affairs, and Athletics.  

The Provost Search Committee members are Sidney Anderson, student; Kim Bellah, Associate Professor Hutson School of Agriculture; Kevin Binfield, Professor English & Philosophy; Misty Evans, Lecturer Continuing Education and Academic Outreach; Kathy Farmer, Assistant Professor University Libraries; Kathy Farrell, Associate Professor School of Nursing; David Fender, Professor Occupation Safety & Health; Renee Fister, Professor Math & Statistics; Rory Goggins, Assistant Professor English & Philosophy; Marcia Hobbs, Dean School of Nursing; Matt Kelly, Senior Assistant Athletic Director; Jamie Mantooth, Director Retention Services; Melanie McCallon, Associate Director Education Abroad - Institute for International Studies; Debbie Owens, Associate Professor Journalism & Mass Communications;  Jack Rose, Professor College of Education; Murphy Smith, Dill Distinguished Professor Bauernfeind College of Business, and John Young, Administrative Assistant Telecommunications Systems Management.  

Decorative image
Site Directory