Administration, Faculty, and Staff

Director

Dr. Howard Whiteman
Biological Sciences
Evolutionary ecology and conservation biology
howard.whiteman@murraystate.edu
Ms. Gerry Harris
WSI/HBS
Administrative Assistant
gharris@murraystate.edu

WSI Faculty

Dr. Paul Gagnon
Biology, WSI
Wetland ecology, disturbance ecology
pgagnon@murraystate.edu
r. Bommanna Loganathan
Chemistry, WSI
Organic chemistry, toxicology
bommanna.loganathan@murraystate.edu
Dr. Gary Stinchcomb
Geosciences
Soil geomorhology, Quaternary geology, geoarchaeology
gstinchcomb@murraystate.edu

WSI Steering Committee

Dr. Stephen Cobb
Dean, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
(270) 809-2886
steve.cobb@murraystate.edu
Dr. George Kipphut
Physical Limnologist, Chair of Department of Geosciences
(270) 809-2847
george.kipphut@murraystate.edu
Dr. Bommanna Loganathan
Environmental Chemist
(270) 809-2586
bommanna.loganathan@murraystate.edu
Dr. Kevin Revell
Assistant Dean, College of Science, Engineering and Technology
(270) 809-6540
krevell@murraystate.edu
Dr. Harry Fannin
Chair, Department of Chemistry
(270) 809-4490
hfannin@murraystate.edu
Dr. Claire Fuller
Chair, Department of Biology
(270) 809-5497
cfuller@murraystate.edu
Dr. David White
Endowed Chair & HBS Director
(270) 474-2272
david.white@murraystate.edu
WSI Director
(270) 809-6753
howard.whiteman@murraystate.edu

Research Faculty

Geosciences
GIS and Remote Sensing
haluk.cetin@murraystate.edu
Biological Sciences
Physiological ecology
terry.derting@murraystate.edu"
Dr. Leon Duobinis-Gray
Biological Sciences
Parasitology
leon.duobinis-gray@murraystate.edu
Dr. Harry Fannin
Chemistry
Environmental Chemistry
harry.fannin@murraystate.edu
Dr. Renee Fister
Mathematics and Statistics
Biomathematics
renee.fister@murraystate.edu
Biological Sciences
Community ecology and aquatic invertebrates
michael.flinn@murraystate.edu
Dr. Claire Fuller
Biological Sciences
Population and behavioral ecology
claire.fuller@murraystate.edu
Biology, WSI
Wetland ecology, disturbance ecology
pgagnon@murraystate.edu
Dr. Kate He
Biological Sciences
Community ecology and invasion biology
kate.he@murraystate.edu
Dr. Sung-ho Hong
Geosciences
Hydrogeology and remote sensing
shong4@murraystate.edu
WSI, HBS
Limnology, stream ecology, hyporheic processes
susan.hendricks@murraystate.edu
Dr. Timothy Johnston
Biological Sciences
Microbiology, microbial ecology
tim.johnston@murraystate.edu
Dr. Mike Kemp
Industrial and Engineering Technology
Environmental monitoring and management
mike.kemp@murraystate.edu
Biological Sciences, Geosciences, WSI
Aquatic geochemistry, physical limnology
george.kipphut@murraystate.edu
Dr. Bommanna Loganathan
Chemistry, WSI
Organic chemistry, toxicology
bommanna.loganathan@murraystate.edu
Mathematics and Statistics
Biomathematics
maeve.mccarthy@murraystate.edu
Mathematics and Statistics
Statistical methods and biomathematics
christopher.mecklin@murraystate.edu
Dr. Dayle Saar
Biological Sciences
Systematic and evolutionary biology
dayle.saar@murraystate.edu
Dr. Timothy Spier
Biological Sciences
Fish Ecology, GIS
tspier@murraystate.edu
Geosciences, WSI
Soil geomorphology, Quaternary geology, geoarchaeology
gstinchcomb@murraystate.edu
Dr. David White
Biological Sciences
Aquatic ecology, benthos-sediment interactions, hyporheic zones
david.white@murraystate.edu
Geosciences
GIS and remote sensing
robin.zhang@murraystate.edu

Postdoctoral Associates

WSI
Evolutionary and behavioral ecology, conservation
alackey1@murraystate.edu

Research Staff

Ms. Angie Hayden
WSI/HBS
Laboratory technician
ahayden4@murraystate.edu
WSI/MARC
Geographic Information Systems
jane.benson@murraystate.edu
Ms. Karla Johnston
WSI/HBS
Laboratory operations
karla.johnston@murraystate.edu
Mr. Clark Hendrix
WSI/HBS
Field operations
chendrix2@murraystate.edu
Mr. Russell Trites
WSI/HBS
HBS Operations supervisor
russell.trites@murraystate.edu
Mr. Xulong Peng
WSI
Database Administrator / Web Developer
xpeng@murraystate.edu