Li Kuang


Li Kuang
Assistant Professor of Music
DMA, University of Texas at Austin
MM, University of Michigan
BM, Bowling Green State University
BM, Sichuan Conservatory of Music
Telephone: 270.809.6339
Office: Price Doyle Fine Arts 543
Area of Expertise: Trombone

 An international award-winning trombonist and an Edwards performing artist, Dr. Kuang has competed successfully in several competitions, including winning the “Top Emerging Artists” competition in Asia, the International Trombone Association Frank Smith Competition, Bowling Green State University Concerto Competition and the Sichuan Province Government Scholarship. He was awarded runner-up at Remington International Trombone Choir competition, the UT-Austin Concerto Competition, and was a finalist in ATW American Solo Competition Division III. 

 As an orchestral musician, Dr. Kuang started to perform regularly with Sichuan Symphony Orchestra, Sichuan Opera Orchestra, Chengdu Philharmonic, and Sichuan Film Orchestra at the age of 19. Outside of Asia, Dr. Kuang performed with several notable orchestras in the United States. Dedicated to teaching, Dr. Kuang has given master classes at several universities in the US and is an artist-in-residencies at major conservatories across China. Dr. Kuang attended several important trombone seminars and workshops including the prestigious Alessi Seminar, Michael Mulcahy Trombone Class, Summer Trombone Workshop.  Continuing to serve the role of “ambassador” to China and the US in the trombone field, Dr. Kuang works tirelessly to build connections between these two countries.

 Previously taught at Southwestern University, Blinn College and The University of Texas at Austin, Dr. Kuang earned his DMA from The University of Texas at Austin, MMs from The University of Michigan, BMs from Bowling Green State University and Sichuan Conservatory of Music. His primary teachers are Nathaniel Brickens, David Jackson, Bill Mathis, Garth Simmons, and Jin Sun. Dr. Kuang also received additional private instructions from Joseph Alessi, Kenneth Thompkins, Michael Mulcahy, Nitzan Haroz and Matt Vaughn.