University Distinguished Mentor Award (UDMA)

The Office of the Provost, in conjunction with the Office of The Office of Scholarly and Creative Activity, is pleased to present the Distinguished Mentor Award in recognition of extraordinary efforts of Murray State faculty in the area of undergraduate mentoring, which is understood as a sustained partnership of mutual concern significantly fostering students’ intellectual, ethical and academic development above and beyond expectations of even excellent advising and teaching. There should be evidence that the faculty member promoted intentional learning by the student contributing to his/her intellectual growth as expressed in the Characteristics of a Murray State Graduate, while creating new knowledge or development of new ideas or creative works. Mentoring on this level of engagement is a sustained partnership that is necessarily multifaceted and is enhanced by mutual respect and concern. This involvement in such educational opportunities and practices not imagined before is often a life changing experience for students and leads to fuller recognition of the students’ own potential.

UDMA Dates for 2018-19 Academic Year

Nomination Deadline
February 1, 2019
Deadline for Nominees to Submit Information
February 19, 2019
Award presented at Faculty Recognition Banquet 
April 18, 2019
2018-19 Award Chair  
Dana Statton,



  • 2019 -
  • 2018 - Dr. Yoko Hatakeyama, Department of Global Languages
  • 2017 - Dr. David Flinn, Department of Biology
  • 2016 - Dr. David Pizzo, Department of History
  • 2015 - Dr. Haluk Cetin, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • 2014 - Dr. David Ferguson, Department of Agricultural Science
  • 2013 - Dr. Claire Fuller, Department of Biological Sciences
  • 2012 - Dr. Bommanna Loganathan, Department of Chemistry
  • 2011 - Dr. Iin Handayani, Department of Agricultural Science
  • 2010 - Dr. James Davies, Department of Equine and Animal Science
  • 2009 - Dr. K. Renee Fister, Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  • 2008 - Dr. Howard Whiteman, Department of Biological Sciences
  • 2007 - Dr. Terry Derting, Department of Biological Sciences, and Dr. Paula Waddill, Department of Psychology

2016-2019 Selection Committee

  • Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business - Dr. Bella Ezumah
  • College of Education and Human Services - Dr. Amanda Holland
  • College of Humanities and Fine Arts - Dr. ZB Smetana, Selection Committee Chair
  • Hutson School of Agriculture - Dr. Brian Parr
  • Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology - Dr. Bommanna Loganathan
  • School of Nursing and Health Professions - Summer Cross
  • Previous Recipient Serving on Committee - Dr. Haluk Cetin