Education Abroad - Discover Korea

Map of South KoreaIn May 2019, graduate students and professionals are invited to participate in a 10-day, education abroad program to South Korea. Under the guidance of Dr. Ben Littlepage and Dr. Samir Patel, attendees will explore how individual wellness is defined, assessed, and supported at the secondary and post-secondary education levels in a Southeast Asian culture. K-12 education, counseling, and higher education are becoming increasingly globalized. Professionals in these fields are encouraged to adopt a multicultural perspective to provide optimal student support and holistic wellness for all students.

 

Helpful links

Download the promotional flyer

Visit the Education Abroad website for application, scholarship and deadline details

Itinerary

Day Event
Monday, May 20 Leave Nashville, TN
Tuesday, May 21 Arrive at Daegu University

Wednesday, May 22

 

Daegu University

  • Cultural orientation
  • Campus tour
  • Meet and Greet with students and staff

Thursday, May 23

Daegu University

  • Career Counseling
  • Student Support Services
  • Disability Services

Friday, May 24

 

 

Daegu University

  • Dept. of Social Welfare, Family Welfare, & Psychology
  • Institute for Lifelong Learning
  • Student association leaders
  • International student association

Saturday, May 25

Travel to Ulsan, South Korea (SK)

  • Visit Hyundai Motors Plant
  • Daewangam Park
  • Taehwa River Bamboo Forest

Sunday, May 26

Travel to downtown Daegu (SK)

  • Medicine Museum
  • Seomun Market

Monday, May 27

Travel to Daegu (SK)

  • Middle school
  • High school
  • Hagwons

Tuesday, May 28

Travel to Seoul

  • Free afternoon
  • MSU Alumni Event – Seoul Chapter

Wednesday, May 29 

Seoul

  • Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) Border
  • Gyeongbokgung Palace
  • Insadong

Thursday, May 30

  • Leave Seoul, South Korea
  • Arrive at Nashville, TN

Note: Schedule is subject to change