Posters at the Capitol

February 8, 2018 marked the seventeenth annual Posters-at-the-Capitol program. With unique research projects on display, Posters-at-the-Capitol helps to increase understanding of the important role undergraduate research plays in the education of our students among those responsible for higher education funding in Kentucky. The program runs from 9:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m., with special remarks in the Capitol Building Rotunda at 10:30 a.m.

Providing undergraduates with the opportunity to engage in scholarly, research, and creative work is important to our students’ educational experience and professional development. We encourage faculty to have their students participate in Posters-at-the-Capitol to help those in Kentucky who fund higher education understand why these experiences are so important. If you are an undergraduate, we urge you to tell your story to your hometown and university legislators so that other Kentucky students can enjoy and benefit from the kind of experience you have had.

Getting Started

Poster Guidelines

  • Posters may not exceed 48" by 48"


Posters-at-the-Capitol Organizing Committee and Campus Contacts

Dr. Jonathan Gore, Professor
Eastern Kentucky University
Director, Undergraduate Research & Creative Endeavors
Office of Undergraduate Research and Department of Psychology
(859) 622-1115
Mr. C. Steven Cahill, Assistant Professor
West Kentucky Community & Technical College
Biological Sciences
(270) 534-3242
Dr. George Antonious, Professor
Kentucky State University
Division of Environmental Studies & Sustainable Systems
(502) 597-6005
Dr. Michael Henson, Professor
Morehead State University
Associate Vice President for Research & Dean of the Graduate School
(606) 783-2010
Mr. AJ Boston, Assistant Professor
Posters-at-the-Capitol Program Coordinator
Murray State University
Scholarly Communication Librarian, University Libraries 
Coordinator, Office of Research and Creative Activity (ORCA)
(270) 809-2849
Dr. David Pizzo,  Associate Professor
Murray State University
Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator, Department of History
Faculty Coordinator, Office of Research and Creative Activity (ORCA)
(270) 809-6584
Dr. John Farrar, Associate Professor
Northern Kentucky University
Center for Integrative Natural Sciences and Mathematics and Department of Chemistry
(859) 572-7636
Ms. Evie Russell
University of Kentucky
Chellgren Center
Assistant Director, Office of Undergraduate Research
(859) 257-6420
Dr. Charles W. Leonard, Ph.D
University of Louisville
The Grawemeyer Awards
Grawemeyer Scholars
(502) 852-7034
Dr. Cheryl D. Davis, Associate Provost and Professor
Western Kentucky University
Associate Provost for Research and Creative Activity
University Distinguished Professor of Biology
(270) 745-6733

Project Lead the Way Organizing Committee

Mr. Douglas Klein, PLTW Affiliate Director
University of Kentucky
College of Engineering
(859) 218-0651
Ms. Metty Joseph, PLTW Affiliate Co-Director
University of Kentucky
College of Engineering
(859) 257-0180