Service Learning Mentor of the Year

The Service Learning Mentor of the Year Award is given annually to a faculty member who actively embraces Service Learning, an experiential learning pedagogy that encourages students to utilize the skills and knowledge of their discipline to meet a need in the community. A significant criterion should be one of impact and innovation. There should be substantial evidence that a nominee’s service learning activities have had a significant positive effect on students’ education and our community. There should also be substantial evidence that the nominee’s professional life has been characterized by a commitment to service learning activities as opposed to a one-time involvement in such activity.

The award will include a one-time $1,000 stipend, a certificate, and recognition at the annual Faculty Awards Banquet.


  • Full-time or part-time permanent faculty appointment as a lecturer, tenured or tenure-track employee of Murray State University. Full-time staff who teach courses are also be eligible.

  • Awardees will be eligible for another award five years after a previous award. Previous winners will be evaluated on their service learning record since the previous award.

Nomination procedure

  • Faculty, staff, alumni, students, and members of the community may submit nominations. Only one nomination is needed to place a candidate’s name into consideration.

  • Persons wishing to nominate a faculty member for this award should download the nomination form and submit it to AJ Boston at

Selection committee

A sub-committee of the Service Learning Advisory Board reviews nominations and selects the recipient.

2021-22 deadlines

  • March 14, 2022: Deadline for Nominations

  • March 28, 2022: Selection of Awardee

  • April 2022: Recognize recipient at the annual Murray State Faculty Awards Banquet

Previous recipients

  • Dr. Robert Fritz (2020)
  • Dr. Miranda Wilson (2018)

  • Dr. Peter Weber (2016)

  • Dr. Dana (Manley) Todd (2015)

  • Dr. Bob Long (2014)

  • Dr. Duane Bolin (2012)

  • Dr. Robin Zhang (2011)

  • Dr. Bommanna Loganathan (2010)

  • Mr. Mike Gowan (2009)

  • Dr. Kelly Rogers (2008)

  • Dr. Howard Whiteman (2007)

Take the next step

© Murray State University Department of Web ManagementWe are Racers.