Building Coordinator Program

A leading faculty or staff member has been assigned to each academic, administrative and general purpose building on Murray State's campus as a building coordinator. The Office of Environmental Safety and Health has designed an instructive module to aid building coordinators in the training of faculty and staff (in their building) in safety guidelines and emergency response procedures before one occurs. This program consists of a Power Point presentation, training manual and hazard specific pamphlets. A copy of this program will remain with the building coordinator for use by the faculty and staff of that building. ESH personalized the training programs by providing digital photos that increase faculty and staff awareness by depicting life safety equipment that is distinctive to their building.

Building Coordinator Operational Guidelines

Applies to all regular, 12-month, full-time Faculty and Staff. Part-time employees and persons working less than 12 months are not eligible. This is an additional task for these employees and it should not affect their regular jobs.


  • Building Coordinators – Communication, Door Security and Emergency Procedure Implementation 

  • Assistant Building Coordinators – Provide back up and assistance to Building Coordinators 

Coordination of Program

The Office of Environmental Safety and Health will be responsible for this program.

Building Coordinator Training

Undergo Building Coordinator Training

Take the Building Coordinator Quiz

List of Building Coordinators

Building Building Coordinator Assistant
Alexander Hall Tamela Darnell Susana Bloomdahl
Alumni Center Joyce Whitney Carrie McGinnis
Applied Science Robert Miller Lori Mathis
Biology Building Sterling Wright Dana Vinson
Blackburn Science Michael Busby  
Breathitt Vet Center Debbie Reed Ivan Baker
Business Building David Eaton Debbie Nesbitt
Carman Pavilion Laura Hoffman Barbie Papajeski
John W. Carr Hall Katy Hancock Jordan Williams
CFSB Center Brock Rydecki Greg Frey
Chemistry Building Keith York Kevin Miller
Curris Center Re’nita Avery-Meriwether Debbie Futrell
Engineering and Physics Jamie Rogers Sheri Jones
Equine Center Lauren Rascher Cheryl Porr
Expo Center Becky Ballard Brian Parr
Facilities Management Rick Grogan Jamie Miller
Faculty Hall David Balthrop Cheryl Hicks
Fine Arts Brent Menchinger  
General Services Beth Ward Darcie Liddle
Hancock Biological Station Michael Flinn Gerry Harris
Henderson Campus Heather Roy Mary Steely
Heritage Hall Tina Bernot Aviva Yasgur
Hopkinsville Campus Scott Ganley Slone Cansler
Howton Ag Brian Hoover Brian Parr
Industry and Technology Jamie Rogers Rudy Ottway
Lovett Auditorium David Balthrop Cheryl Hicks
Lowry Center Tammy McDaniel Sarah Williams
Madisonville Campus Heather Roy Jean Ann Bridges
Mason Hall Dina Byers Jodi Hanneman
Miller Golf Course Nick Newcomb Dan Jones
Nash House Carol Brunn Ellen Dale
Oakhurst Jill Hunt MSU Police
Paducah Campus Melanie Watson Karami Underwood
Pogue Library Jeff McLaughlin Cris Ferguson
Police Department Cody Stephens-Tucker  
Pullen Farm Thomas Powell Brian Parr
Racer Arena Brock Rydecki Fulton Hart
Residential Colleges David Wilson  
Simpson Child Development Center Susan Crawford  Jessica McCallon
Sparks Hall Jackie Dudley Wendy Cain 
Stewart Stadium Brock Rydecki Greg Frey
University Club Facilities Management Central Plant (weekends and after hours)
University Farm Buildings Jason Robertson  
Visual Arts Building (Ind. Ed) Rebecca Williams David Balthrop
Waterfield Library Cindy Clark Cris Ferguson
Wellness Center Jordan Williams  
Wells Hall Bob Pervine Angela Darnell
Wilson Hall Orville Herndon  
Winslow Cafeteria David Looney Sonya Lasater, Jim Halcombe
Wrather Museum Jeff McLaughlin Cris Ferguson
Residential College Building Coordinator
Elizabeth College David Wilson
Franklin College David Wilson
Hart College David Wilson
Hester College David Wilson
Hollis Franklin College David Wilson
James Richmond College David Wilson
Lee Clark College David Wilson
Regents College David Wilson
White College David Wilson

Take the next step

© Murray State University Department of Web ManagementWe are Racers.