The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges Commission on Colleges is the recognized regional accrediting body in the eleven U.S. Southern states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia) and in Latin America for those institutions of higher education that award associate, baccalaureate, master's or doctoral degrees. The Commission on Colleges is the representative body of the College Delegate Assembly and is charged with carrying out the accreditation process.

To gain or maintain accreditation with the Commission on Colleges, an institution must comply with the standards contained in the Principles of Accreditation: Foundations for Quality Enhancement and with the policies and procedures of the Commission on Colleges. The Commission on Colleges applies the requirements of its Principles to all applicant, candidate, and member institutions, regardless of type of institution (public, private for-profit, private not-for-profit).

For more information on Murray State University's accreditation with SACSCOC, please visit Murray State's Institutional Details page. For more information on SACSCOC please visit the SACSCOC website.

Murray State University is also a Kentucky: Council on Postsecondary Education State-Supported School. To view information on this please visit: CPE's Kentucky State Univerisities and KCTCS page.

Take the next step

© Murray State University Department of Web ManagementWe are Racers.