Black Alumni Network Awards

The Murray State University (MSU) Black Alumni Network presents awards of distinction during its Black Alumni Reunions or other designated times as established by the network. These awards represent the highest honor bestowed upon MSU Black Alumni, students, faculty, or administrators by the MSU Black Alumni Network.

Dennis Jackson Trailblazer Alumni Award

Dennis Jackson yearbook photoThe Dennis Jackson Trailblazer Alumni Award is presented to Murray State University alumni who have made significant achievements and contributions to their communities or professions and devoted their time and effort in servant leadership. The recipient of this award will demonstrate a heart of great passion to give and to serve. The recipients may have excelled in their respective careers, given immensely of themselves to their communities or served as great role models for other alumni and/or students to emulate. One recipient will be recognized.

Submit a nomination

Nancy Tyler Demartra Outstanding Alumni Award

Nancy Tyler Demartra yearbook photoThe Nancy Tyler Demartra Outstanding Black Alumni Award recognizes outstanding Black alumni who have been stellar leaders within the University community and/or within their local community. The award is named in honor of Murray State's first Black graduate, Nancy Tyler Demartra, who graduated in 1961 with a BA in elementary education and a master's degree two years later. This award has two (2) potential categories: Young Alumni (age 40 and under) and Overall Achievement (no class or age requirement).

Submit a nomination

Mary Ford Holland Courageous Leader Award

Marry Ford Holland yearbook photoThe Mary Ford Holland Courageous Leader Award bears the name of Mary Ford Holland, the first African American student to enroll at Murray State University. The award recognizes noteworthy and distinctive achievements made by alumni or students from Murray State University. The recipient of the award should demonstrate significant accomplishments or promise in their fields, offer inspiration and encouragement as models for principled leadership, and exhibit civic, cultural, or charitable involvement within their communities. One recipient will be recognized.

Submit a nomination

Dr. Steve Jones Exemplary Faculty/Staff Award

Dr. Steve Jones courtesy of Paducah SunThe Dr. Steve Jones, Outstanding Faculty/Staff Award honors a faculty or staff member, past or present, who has made outstanding contributions to the MSU community and to educating MSU students (nominee does not have to be an alumnus).  One recipient will be recognized. (Image courtesy of Paducah Sun).

Submit a nomination

Take the next step

© Murray State University Department of Web ManagementWe are Racers.