Academic Policies

Considers and makes recommendations to the senate to enable the senate to carry out its responsibility for initiating and/or reviewing policies relating to university academic matters, considers and makes recommendations to the senate on matters which have a bearing on academic excellence.

Members Location
Greg Gierhart, Chair 3231 AL
Robert Donnelly 6C4 FH
Bassil El Masri 413 BL
Aleck Leedy 115 BL
Todd French 524 FA
Brian Perna  


Serves as the agenda committee for the senate, a nominating committee for senate officers and representatives, and an advisory board to the president of the senate.

Joe DeBella, Chair 
Nancy Armstrong
Brian Clardy
Katherine Farmer 
Greg Gierhart
Priscilla Maghrabi
Naveen Musunuru
Barbie Papajeski
David Roach


Considers and makes recommendations to the senate on budgetary matters concerning fiscal resources and the financing of university programs.

Members Location
David Roach, Chair 6C17 FH
Janice Super  553D BB
Shri Singh BVC
Eric Umstead 3203 AL
Randy Wilson  
Ken Sutrick 652C BB
Naveen Musunuru 210S AS

Governmental Affairs

Keeps the senate informed of the actions and proposals of legislative, administrative, and other agencies (public and private), which might affect aspects of university programs and governance for which the senate has responsibility; serves as an advisory board to the COSFL representatives; bears primary responsibility for developing and conducting programs advocating the advancement of faculty and university interests with publics external to the university.

Members Location
Andrew Morelock 5A-1 FH
Nancy Armstrong,  Chair 232 MH
Justin Brogan 3216 AL
Sarah Martin  
Bommanna Loganathan 1244 CB
Michael Bordieri 401C WE
 Amanda Davis  306S AS

Handbook and Personnel

Considers and makes recommendations to the senate on policies relating to the rights and responsibilities of faculty members incident to their employment by the university, considers and makes recommendations to the senate on changes and/or additions to the Faculty Handbook.

Members Location
Terry Derting 102A BG
Randy Keller  157F IT
Barbie Papajeski, Chair 115D CP
Kala Chakradhar  102B CH
Heidi Ortega 705 FA
Kevin Binfield                           7C-5 FH
Priscilla Maghrabi  403 AS

Rules, Elections, and Bylaws

Prepares senate electoral rolls, conducts all elections for which the senate is responsible, makes recommendations for changes in the senate constitution and/or bylaws.

Members Location
Brian Clardy, Chair 6B10 FH
Leigh Johnson 132 BB-S
Miranda Wilson  G9 LC
Jeff Henry 216 WL
Karen Coulter 228 AH
Kathy Farmer (Faculty Regent) 216B WL