Resource for Programs Seeking Accreditation

Please contact the Provost Office if you are seeking programmatic accreditation.

Institutional Accreditation

Murray State University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate, baccalaureate, masters, educational specialist and doctorate degrees. Murray State University also may offer credentials such as certificates and diplomas at approved degree levels. Questions about the accreditation of Murray State University may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling 404.679.4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC's website. Normal inquiries such as admission requirements, financial aid, educational programs, etc., should be addressed directly to Murray State University.

Reaffirmation letter from SACSCOC, January 3, 2015

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

Degree Granting Authority

Murray State University is officially recognized as a state university in the Commonwealth of Kentucky’s Revised Statutes (KRS) 164.290. By the authority vested in the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education (CPE) by the Commonwealth of Kentucky (KRS 164.295), Murray State University has the authority to grant the following degrees within the Commonwealth: 

  • Associate: Associate of Arts (A.A.) and Associate of Science (A.S.)

  • Baccalaureate: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), Bachelor of Arts in Business (B.A.B.), Bachelor of Fine Arts (B.F.A.), Bachelor of Integrated Studies (B.I.S.), Bachelor of Music (B.M.), Bachelor of Science (B.S.), Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (B.S.A.), Bachelor of Science in Business (B.S.B.), Bachelor of Science in Engineering (B.S.E.), Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.) and Bachelor of Social Work (B.S.W.)

  • Master’s: Master of Arts (M.A.), Master of Arts in Education (M.A.Ed.), Master of Arts in Teaching (M.A.T.), Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.), Master of Fine Arts (M.F.A.), Master of Music Education (M.M.E.), Master of Public Administration (M.P.A.), Master of Science (M.S.), Master of Science in Athletic Training (M.S.A.T.) and Master of Science in Information Systems (M.S.I.S.)

  • Specialist: Specialist in Education (Ed.S.)

  • Doctorate: Doctor of Arts (D.A.), Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) and Doctor of Nursing Practice (D.N.P.)

  • Certificate: Murray State University offers undergraduate and graduate certificate programs. Please see the certificate page or academic bulletin for all certificate programs available.


Academic Bulletins

  • See Preface of current academic bulletin for a list of professional accreditations.

  • See Academic Degrees and Programs for a list all degrees offered.

Organization Charts

Take the next step

© Murray State University Department of Web ManagementWe are Racers.