Role of accreditation at Murray State University

In general, the goal of accreditation at U.S. universities is to ensure that the education provided by institutions meets or exceeds acceptable levels of quality. Murray State University maintains both regional accreditation and a wide range of discipline accreditations in order to provide the public and our campus constituents with accurate information related to productivity, performance and results. As the Murray State Strategic Plan indicates, Murray State University values a comprehensive accountability system through accreditation, program evaluation, measurement of accomplishments and established indicators of institutional effectiveness.

Institutional Accreditation

Murray State University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate, baccalaureate, masters, educational specialist and doctorate degrees. Murray State University also may offer credentials such as certificates and diplomas at approved degree levels. Questions about the accreditation of Murray State University may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling 404.679.4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC's website. Normal inquiries such as admission requirements, financial aid, educational programs, etc., should be addressed directly to Murray State University.

State Accreditation

Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board

Program Accreditations

The following agencies accredit specific disciplines and programs at Murray State University:

  • The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB-International)
  • Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND)
  • Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE)
  • Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC)
  • American Chemical Society
  • American Veterinary Medical Association
  • Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission of ABET (ANSAC/ABET)
  • Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP)
  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)
  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Professions (CACREP)
  • Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)
  • Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology of the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (CAA)
  • Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA)
  • Council on Social Work Education (CSWE)
  • Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET
  • Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission of ABET
  • Master’s in Psychology and Counseling Accreditation Council (MPCAC)
  • National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD)
  • National Association of Schools of Music (NASM)
  • National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST)

Facility Accreditation

American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians (Breathitt Veterinary Center)

Questions and Comments are appreciated and can be mailed to:

Office of the Provost

Murray State University

333 Wells Hall, Murray State University, Murray, KY 42071

Take the next step

© Murray State University Department of Web ManagementWe are Racers.