Contacts

Contact phone numbers

Police Officers

All Murray State University Police officers are certified through the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training. Murray State officers spend 6 months in the Kentucky Law Enforcement Basic Training Academy in Richmond, Kentucky before receiving their certification. All officers have law enforcement authority throughout Calloway County with their primary focus being the campus community.

The Murray State Police Department is accredited through the Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police and has been accredited since 2007.

Police Communications Officers

The Murray State Police Communications section can properly be called the "hub" of the Police Department. The Communications section is operated 24-hours a day and is where the vast majority of first encounters from the University and general public originate.

Police Communications Officers are state certified police dispatchers through the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training. The Murray State Police Communications section is accredited through the Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police, the first university police agency in Kentucky to receive accreditation.

Command and supervisory staff

Chief Herring in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
James C. Herring Jr.
Chief of Police
Murray State Police Department
jherring5@murraystate.edu
Assistant Chief Gentry in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Jeff Gentry
Assistant Chief
Murray State Police Department
jgentry@murraystate.edu
Captain Dunaway in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Roy Dunaway
Support Services Captain
Murray State Police Department
rdunaway1@murraystate.edu
Captain Orr in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Ryan Orr
Field Operations Captain
Murray State Police Department
rorr@murraystate.edu 
Sgt. Barry Rice in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Barry Rice
Detective Sergeant
Murray State Police Department
brice3@murraystate.edu 
Sgt. Joey Rice in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Joey Rice
Professional Standards Sergeant
Murray State Police Department
grice2@murraystate.edu
Sgt. Rick Mehlbauer in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Rick Mehlbauer
A Shift Sergeant
Murray State Police Department
rmehlbauer@murraystate.edu
 Sergeant Guill in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Austin Guill
B Shift Sergeant
Murray State Police Department
sguill@murraystate.edu
Sgt Fike in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Chris Fike
C Shift Sergeant
Murray State Police Department
cfike@murraystate.edu

Patrol Officers

Officer Jake Darnell in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Jake Darnell
A Shift Patrol Officer
Murray State Police Department
jdarnell6@murraystate.edu
Officer Shannon Puckett in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Shannon Puckett
A Shift Patrol Officer
Murray State Police Department
spuckett5@murraystate.edu
Officer Ira Scott in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Ira Scott
B Shift Patrol Officer
Murray State Police Department
iscott@murraystate.edu
Officer Russ Kegel in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Russ Kegel
B Shift Patrol Officer
Murray State Police Department
rkegel@murraystate.edu
Officer Scott Svebakken in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Scott Svebakken
C Shift Patrol Officer
Murray State Police Department
ssvebakken1@murraystate.edu
Officer Brad Lamb in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Brad Lamb
C Shift Patrol Officer
Murray State Police Department
blamb2@murraystate.edu
Officer Michael D'Elia in police uniform sitting in front of the MSU Police patch
Michael D'Elia
Patrol Officer
Murray State Police Department
mdelia@murraystate.edu

Office Support Staff

Donna Jackson sitting in front of the MSU Police patch and American Flag
Donna Jackson
Administrative Assistant
Murray State Police Department
djackson@murraystate.edu