Murray State awards 16 Presidential Fellowships

By Dominique Suiter | May 1, 2024

Presidential fellowship recipients for 2024

Pictured from left to right: Dr. David Gibson, Elizabeth Clifton, Dr. Warren Edminster, Mary Beth Stith, Caden Burden, Amanda Chace, Jocelyn Reddick, Sidney Lasley, Isabelle Washburn, Emily Wallace, Lincoln English, Kara Southworth, Addie Husband, Matthew Wilson, Noah Allen, Dr. Robert Jackson, Dr. Jessica Naber. Not pictured: Anne Perry, Tess Hinkle and Carlie Sanders.


MURRAY, Ky. – Murray State University has awarded a total of 16 students with the prestigious Presidential Fellowship, which includes full tuition, housing and meals for up to four years at the University.

“It is an honor to welcome this group of outstanding students to Murray State University,” said Murray State University President Dr. Bob Jackson. “Their commitment to academic excellence is unwavering and unmatched, and we are pleased to offer a high-quality and high-impact curriculum that will challenge and engage our students as they pursue their educational goals.”

The recipients, who represent several counties across Kentucky, as well as two adjoining states, will be part of the University’s Honors College, a community within Murray State that offers a unique honors curriculum, critical-thinking seminars and specialized programs and activities.

“Our presidential fellows are all outstanding academic achievers, but they are also selected based on their demonstrated leadership potential and involvement in their communities,” said Dr. Warren Edminster, executive director of the Honors College.

Students selected for the Presidential Fellowship have earned a 28 ACT composite score minimum (or 1310 SAT verbal and math combined score minimum), along with a 3.7 GPA on a 4.0 scale. They complete a rigorous multi-step application process that includes multiple interviews. During their time at Murray State, recipients of the fellowship are responsible for conducting extensive research projects and serving as leaders in the campus community.

Students who have received a Presidential Fellowship:

● Noah Allen of Marine, Illinois

● Caden Burden of Beaver Dam, Kentucky

● Amanda Chace of Columbia, Illinois

● Elizabeth Clifton of Morganfield, Kentucky

● Lincoln English of Almo, Kentucky

● Tess Hinkle of Arlington, Tennessee

● Addie Husband of LaGrange, Kentucky

● Sidney Lasley of Murray, Kentucky

● Anne Perry of Danville, Kentucky

● Jocelyn Reddick of Bowling Green, Kentucky

● Carlie Sanders of Glasgow, Kentucky

● Karah Southworth of Carrollton, Kentucky

● Mary Stith of Brandenburg, Kentucky

● Isabelle Washburn of Benton, Kentucky

● Matthew Wilson of Nicholasville, Kentucky

● Emily Wallace of Midway, Kentucky

For more information on the University’s Honors College, please visit

Take the next step

© Murray State University Department of Web ManagementWe are Racers.