14th annual A Taste of the Arts benefit event

By Jennifer Cline | Aug 25, 2023

photo of some items from the 2022 auction

The College of Humanities and Fine Arts and Murray State University invite the public to attend the 14th annual A Taste of the Arts dinner and live auction event,

MURRAY, Ky. – The College of Humanities and Fine Arts and Murray State University invite the public to attend the 14th annual A Taste of the Arts dinner and live auction event, with proceeds designated to provide scholarships for fine arts students. The event will be held on Thursday, Oct. 12 in the newly renovated Lovett Auditorium located on Murray State’s campus. Doors open at 5 p.m. for a cocktail hour and dinner will be served at 6 p.m. The event is sponsored by FNB Bank and will showcase performances by fine arts students, along with a fine dining experience provided by Sodexo and a live auction conducted by professional auctioneer Tanner Roberts. 

“A Taste of the Arts brings together everyone in Murray State’s arts community in a uniquely fun and purposeful way,” said Dr. David Balthrop, dean of the College of Humanities and Fine Arts. “Not only does this event serve as the primary fundraiser for scholarships for students in the fine arts, but it also provides these same students with an opportunity to display their works for their supporters and guests, and our guests with the chance to meet the students they are supporting and see their tremendous talents in practice.”

As part of the event, the College of Humanities and Fine Arts annually awards the Outstanding Alumni in the Fine Arts. This year’s recipient is Mr. Lee Sanders (’92), who has worked as a film and television music composer, including for the multiple-Emmy award winning series The Amazing Race, for twenty years. Having won eight BMI Film & Television Awards for his work, he has earned a reputation as a creative force in music in Hollywood and internationally. This fall, Sanders begins a teaching position at Columbia College Chicago’s acclaimed Music Composition for the Screen program.

“The Department of Music is extremely proud of its alumni and all their accomplishments,” said Dr. Mike D’Ambrosio, interim chair of Murray State’s Department of Music. “Graduates of our program are making a difference across the Commonwealth and beyond. This fall, we are thrilled to be recognizing Lee Sanders, a film and TV composer whose credits include two decades of The Amazing Race on CBS, with the Outstanding Alumni in Fine Arts award.”

New this year, the College will begin awarding an Outstanding Fine Arts Young Alumni award, and this year’s winner is Rashod Taylor (’07). Taylor is an award-winning contemporary photographer whose work has been widely exhibited, including being part of the permanent collection at the Museum of Fine Arts Houston, as well as in publications such as National Geographic and Essence Magazine. He is also the 2021 recipient of the Arnold Newman Prize for New Directions in Photographic Portraiture. 

All proceeds benefit the Taste of the Arts scholarship fund, which directly supports students in the fine arts in their pursuit of a quality arts education. This fund is supporting 46 students in the 2023-24 academic year in their studies at Murray State. Advance registration is required, and the reservation deadline is Oct. 2. Individual tickets are $75, and full tables of eight are $550. To sponsor a table, RSVP to reserve individual seats, or request more information, please visit murraystate.edu/homecoming for online registration, or contact Aviva Yasgur in the Office of Development by Oct. 2 at 270-809-4518. To make a direct contribution to the Taste of the Arts scholarship fund, please contact Kala Allen-Dunn at 270-809-3940 or kallendunn@murraystate.edu.

Take the next step

© Murray State University Department of Web ManagementWe are Racers.