ESL curriculum


The ESL Program curriculum is divided into six levels. Each level generally requires an eight-week term to complete. Information on these levels is provided below.

New students are tested during the orientation program for proficiency in English and then placed at an appropriate level of study. New students are tested in writing, speaking, and grammar skills.

Level 1-2: Beginning Proficiency
Students in these levels receive basic instruction in written and spoken English. This is to help them develop confidence, listening comprehension, and pronunciation, as well as grammar skills. They normally qualify for academic studies at the university after two or three semesters of study. Two or three semesters equal four to six "terms" in the ESL Program.

Level 3-4: Intermediate Proficiency
Further work on functional grammar and writing is done at these levels. Also, issue-oriented and in-depth reading is included. Students normally qualify for academic studies at the university after one or two semesters. One or two semesters equals two to four "terms" in the ESL Program.

Level 5-6: Advanced Proficiency
These advanced levels offer a foundation program for university work. Students in these levels may begin to take coursework in their major. Graduate students may begin coursework if admitted by their graduate program, and with permission of the graduate director in that program. Students in these levels normally need only one semester before enrolling fully in their degree program as a university student.

ESL faculty members are dedicated professionals in the field of language learning who take a personal interest in their students' progress. Many have advanced degrees and all have considerable experience. Several instructors have teaching experience in other countries and are themselves fluent in a second language.

Take the next step

© Murray State University Department of Web ManagementWe are Racers.