Student Organizations in Economics and Finance

Finance and Economics Society


The Finance and Economics Society is open to all students at Murray State, although virtually all of our members are specializing in either finance or economics. Both undergraduate and graduate students are eligible for membership.


Membership dues are $15.00 per semester or $25.00 per year.

Benefits of Membership

  • Exposure to exciting speakers in your major field of study

  • A chance to get to know the faculty on a more personal level

  • Leadership opportunities

  • Working and socializing with fellow students in a relaxed, fun setting

  • Trips to businesses in Nashville, Louisville, and surrounding cities(there may be a nominal fee for transportation, depending on the distance to the site)

  • Participation in the free breakfast meetings

  • Pizza and snacks served at many meetings

Faculty Advisors

For more information contact faculty advisor Dr. Beau Sauley (

Omicron Delta Epsilon, Intl. Honor Society in Eco.


Omicron Delta Epsilon, one of the world's largest academic honor societies, was created through the merger of two honor societies, Omicron Delta Gamma and Omicron Chi Epsilon.

  • Omicron Delta Gamma (The Order of Artus) was founded in 1915 by John R. Commons, University of Wisconsin and Frank Taussig, Harvard University.

  • Omicron Chi Epsilon was founded in 1955 by Alan A. Brown while he was a student at the City College of New York.


The objectives of Omicron Delta Epsilon are:

  • the recognition of scholastic attainment and the honoring of outstanding achievements in economics;

  • the establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics within colleges and universities, and among colleges and universities;

  • the publication of its official journal, The American Economist; and

  • the sponsoring of panels at professional meetings as well as the Irving Fisher and Frank W. Taussig competitions.


Chapter activities vary widely, ranging from invited speakers, group discussions, dinners, meetings, and field trips to special projects such as review sessions and tutoring for students in economics.


  • THE IRVING FISHER GRADUATE ARTICLE AWARD, pays $1500 and provides an opportunity for publication in The American Economist.

  • THE FRANK W. TAUSSIG UNDERGRADUATE ARTICLE AWARD, pays $1000 to the winner and $200 to the winner's ODE chapter, with the opportunity to publish in The American Economist.

  • THE OUTSTANDING STUDENT AWARDS provide recognition to student members who assume active leadership roles in their ODE chapters or otherwise make a significant contribution to the chapters activities.

  • GRANTS of up to $1500 are available to ODE chapters to develop innovative programs that promote a closer relationship between and among students and faculty in economics.

  • Biennially, Omicron Delta Epsilon grants the JOHN R. COMMONS AWARD to an outstanding economist in recognition of his or her achievements and service both to the economics profession and to Omicron Delta Epsilon.

Admission Requirements

The minimum requirements for admission for undergraduates:

  • completion of 12 semester hours of economics courses; and

  • attainment of at least a "B" average in economics courses and an overall "B" average in all classes and be in the upper 1/3 of their class.

  • Students do not have to be economics majors, but must have a genuine interest in economics in addition to meeting the above requirements.

  • The minimum requirements may be raised by local chapters.

Graduate students in Economics are judged solely on their graduate work. They must have: 

  • completed one semester of full time work, with

  • attainment of a "B" or better average.

No one shall be denied membership because of sex, race, color, creed, or national origin.

A life-membership fee is paid by each prospective member of Omicron Delta Epsilon upon election to the Society. In return, the member receives a membership card. scroll and a year's subscription (two issues) to The American Economist. The purchase of the official key or pin by the initiates is optional but highly encouraged.

Faculty Advisors

For more information contact:

Dr. Narine Badasyan, Advisor
307 Business Building

Take the next step

© Murray State University Department of Web ManagementWe are Racers.