Faculty

Lucia Unrau
Lucia Unrau
Department Chairman
D.M.A. in Piano Performance
from the University of Texas at Austin
M.M. in Piano Performance from Indiana University
B.M. in Piano Performance from Oberlin Conservatory
Area of Expertise: Piano, Pedagogy
luciaunrau.com
505 Fine Arts
lunrauterry@murraystate.edu
270.809.4288
Brad Almquist
Brad Almquist
Director of Choral Activities
Professor of Music
DMA, Louisiana State University
MM, University of North Dakota
BS, University of North Dakota
Area of Expertise: Choral Music,
Choral Music Education, Musicology
528 Fine Arts
balmquist@murraystate.edu
270.809.6448
Randall Black
Randall Black
Professor of Music
DM, Indiana University
MM, Indiana University
BM, Southern Illinois University
Area of Expertise: Voice, Pedagogy, Opera
522 Fine Arts
rblack@murraystate.edu
270.809.6447
Trae Blanco
Trae Blanco
https://www.traeblanco.com
Assistant Professor of Music
DMA, Arizona State University
MM, Indiana University
BME, New Mexico State University
Area of Expertise: Wind Conducting,
Instrumental Music Education
305 Fine Arts
cblanco1@murraystate.edu
270.809.4288
Maribeth Crawford
Maribeth Crawford
Associate Professor of Music
DMA, University of Cincinnati's
College Conservatory of Music
MM, University of Cincinnati's
College Conservatory of Music
BM, Mississippi College
Area of Expertise:  Voice, Opera
523 Fine Arts
mcrawford8@murraystate.edu
270.809.6446
ashley cumming
Ashley Cumming
Assistant Professor of Music
DM, Indiana University
Area of Expertise:  Horn
542 Fine Arts
acumming@murraystate.edu
270.809.6453
Mike D'Ambrosio
Mike D'Ambrosio
mikedambrosio.net
Professor of Music
DMA, University of Cincinnati
MM, University of Cincinnati
BS, Lehigh University
BA, Lehigh University
Area of Expertise: music theory,
composition, aural skills
544 Fine Arts
mdambrosio@murraystate.edu
270.809.3142
Joan Eckroth-Riley
Joan Eckroth-Riley
Assistant Professor of Music
MA, University of St. Thomas
BME, University of Mary
Area of Expertise: Music Education,
Orff Schulwerk
535 Fine Arts
jeckrothriley@murraystate.edu
270.809.4288
Scott Erickson
Scott Erickson
Associate Professor of Music
MM, University of Michigan
BM, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Area of Expertise: oboe, bassoon, saxophone
525 Fine Arts
serickson@murraystate.edu
270.809.6457
john fannin
John Fannin
Assistant Director of Bands
Associate Professor of Music
MM, New Mexico State University
BS, Edinboro University
Area of Expertise: marching band,
wind ensembles, music education
306 Fine Arts
jfannin@murraystate.edu
270.809.6449
tana field
Tana Field
Associate Professor of Music
DMA, University of Cincinnati
MM, University of Cincinnati
BA, Luther College
Area of Expertise: voice, diction
527 Fine Arts
tfield@murraystate.edu
270.809.4395
todd m. french
Todd M. French
Assistant Professor of Music
DM, Indiana University 
MM, Indiana University
BM, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Area of Expertise: tuba, euphonium,
brass choir, music theory
524 Fine Arts
tfrench10@murraystate.edu
270.809.4289
Matthew Gianforte
Matthew Gianforte
Associate Professor of Music
DM, Indiana University
MM, Indiana University
BM, The Catholic University of America
Area of Expertise: piano
521 Fine Arts
mgianforte@murraystate.edu
270.809.6443
John Hill
John Hill
Assistant Professor of Music
DMA, Indiana University
MM, Butler University
BME, Butler University
Area of Expertise: percussion
326 Fine Arts
jhill@murraystate.edu
270.809.6460
Todd Hill
Todd Hill
Professor of Music
EdD, Boise State University
MME, Murray State University
BME, Murray State University
Area of Expertise: jazz ensembles, music education
523 Fine Arts
thill@murraystate.edu
270.809.6337
Karen Kane
Karen Kane
Instructor
Music Business Program Director
Area of Expertise: music business
531 Fine Arts
kkane@murraystate.edu
270.809.6323
kuang
Li Kuang
Assistant Professor of Music
DMA, University of Texas at Austin
MM, University of Michigan
BM, Bowling Green State University
BM, Sichuan Conservatory of Music
Area of Expertise: trombone
543 Fine Arts
lkuang@murraystate.edu
270.809.4288
sunhaeng_lee
Sunhaeng Lee
Adjunct Professor of Cello and Bass
DMA, University of Cincinnati (In Progress)
MM, University of Cincinnati 
Artist Diploma, University of Cincinnati
BM, Hanyang University in Korea
Area of Expertise: cello, bass
529 Fine Arts
slee89@murraystate.edu
270.809.4587
Amy McCann
Amy McCann
Assistant Professor of Music
DMA, West Virginia University
MM, West Virginia University
BM, Indiana University
Area of Expertise: clarinet, music theory
305 Fine Arts
amccann1@murraystate.edu
270.809.4288
Christopher Mitchell
Christopher Mitchell
Professor of Music
DM, Florida State University
MM, Florida State University
BM, Michigan State University
Area of Expertise: voice, opera
537 Fine Arts
cmitchell1@murraystate.edu
270.809.3281
meeyoun park
Mee Youn Park
Associate Professor of Music
DM, Indiana University
PD, Indiana University
MM, Indiana University
BM, Yonsei University
Area of Expertise: Piano, Collaborative Piano
526 Fine Arts
mpark9@murraystate.edu
270.809.6333
sue-jean park
Sue-Jean Park
Associate Professor of Music
DMA, University of Texas at Austin
MM, Yale University
BM, Seoul National University
Area of Expertise: violin, viola
517 Fine Arts
spark@murraystate.edu
270.809.6458
Justin Patton
Justin Patton
Recording Studio website
Instructor
BA, Murray State University
Area of Expertise: audio production, recording
2002 Fine Arts
jpatton@murraystate.edu
270.809.5338
Stephanie Rea
Stephanie Rea
Professor
DM, Florida State University
MM, Florida State University (Music Theory)
MM, Florida State University (Flute Performance)
BM, East Tennessee State University
Area of Expertise: flute and theory
530 Fine Arts
srea@murraystate.edu
270.809.4007
Ash Stemke
Ash Stemke
www.ashstemke.com
Assistant Professor of Music
DM, Florida State University
MM, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
PBC, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
BM, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Area of Expertise: Music Theory,
Aural Skills, Composition, Digital Music
537 Fine Arts
jstemke@murraystate.edu
270.809.6445
Eric Swisher
Eric Swisher
Professor of Music
DMA, University of North Texas
MM, Indiana University
BME, University of Oklahoma
Area of Expertise: Trumpet
518 Fine Arts
eswisher@murraystate.edu
270.809.6335
Tammy Turner
Tammy Turner
Adjunct Professor of Music
DA, University of Mississippi
MM, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
BM, University of Tennessee-Martin
Area of Expertise: music history
536 Fine Arts
tturner@murraystate.edu
270.809.3503
Brent Webster
Brent Webster
Instructor
BA, Murray State University
MM, University of Kentucky
Area of Expertise: guitar
2004 Fine Arts
bwebster@murraystate.edu
270.809.2957
Mark Woodring
Mark Woodring
Instructor
DMA, University of Memphis (in progress)
MM, Indiana University
BM, Murray State University
Area of Expertise: Trumpet, Recording Technology
mwoodring@murraystate.edu